Job Description

Online ESL Teacher for K-12 Students

About HAWO American Academy

Like you, HAWO American Academy wants to make the world a better place for tomorrow. As one of China’s premier online educational companies, our mission is to make quality education available and affordable in China. Our talented North American teachers are vital to our success. They make a difference every day by teaching Chinese K-12 kids about English, American culture and values through our online platform.

Position Overview

• The classes: 45-minute English language group classes
• The pay: Base rate of $18 per 45-minute class, plus bonuses and incentives
• The curriculum: U.S. Common Core aligned lesson material, customized for Chinese students
• The timing: Peak teaching times are from Monday to Friday, from 6AM to 10AM Eastern Standard Time, but lessons are offered at other times too.
• The place: Conveniently teach from your own home – no commute!
• The tech: All you’ll need is a computer (link to tech requirements), a strong internet connection, a webcam, and a noise-cancelling headset
• The benefits: We have regular opportunities for professional development and peer learning.
• The culture: We provide cultural discussion opportunities every week.

Minimum Qualifications

• BA degree
• Experience teaching or tutoring
• Experience in the U.S. or Canadian education systems
• Teaching certificates preferred (state certifications, TESOL, TEFL, etc.)

*HAWO American Academy offers a teacher training certificate program for interested candidates.

In addition to the above qualifications, we have further defined 6 key characteristics that we believe make our teachers truly exceptional:

• Personal credibility
• Customer orientation
• Flexibility
• Effective communication
• Technical expertise
• Patience

Position Details

• Contract type: Independent contractor
• Start date: Immediately
• Contract term: Part-Time (1 year)
• Payment details: Teachers are paid through their choice of PayPal or bank transfer each month for the previous month’s work

Hours:

Lesson times must be during our peak hours

Weekdays
EST: 6:00 AM – 10:00 AM
CST: 5:00 AM – 9:00 AM
MST: 4:00 AM – 8:00 AM
PST: 3:00 AM – 7:00 AM
Hawaii: 1:00 AM – 5:00 AM

Weekends
EST: 9:00 PM – 10:00 AM
CST: 8:00 PM – 9:00 AM
MST: 7:00 PM – 8:00 AM
PST: 6:00 PM – 7:00 AM
Hawaii: 4:00 PM – 5:00 AM

Questions?

Reach out to us anytime at teach@51talk.com

Learn About Us From Our Teachers:
Teacher Kelly Carson: https://youtu.be/wyU6r-14K1g
Teacher Laura: https://youtu.be/2DLKykoLYnA

Check us Out on Social Media:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HAWOAA/
YouTube: www.youtube.com/c/51Talkhelloworldaa
Twitter: www.twitter.com/51talkhwaa

teach english online